Hi from St. Ingbert

Hi everyone,

I have finally arrived in St. Ingbert, only to leave again in the morning! I got in last night and Christoph and Coralie picked me up at the train station.(Christoph is the father of the family I will be living with and coralie is the oldest daughter, she’s four). They took me back to the house where I meet Nanette and Alexa(the mother and the youngest daughter 9months). They are all extremely nice and very welcoming. We had a great dinner and after the girls went to bed we stayed up and ate candy, drank wine and talked, in English! It is really nice to be able to speak English again after a three week break in Erfurt. Both parents speak English fairly well and we didn’t have any problems communicating. Christoph is working a 24 hour shift today/tonight so Nanette and I are here with the girls. She also cares for two other little girls and one of them was here this morning. I had the luxury of sleeping in until 9:30 which was amazing and the girls were remarkably quiet. My room is right next to theirs, but they have very thick walls to save on energy costs so it is extremely quiet. I have a great room with huge windows which open up to the outside, an orange couch, a desk, closet and a comfy bed. i have already unpacked most of my things and it is looking good, if a little sparse.

I think the rest of the day will be spent doing laundry and then I believe Christoph’s parents are coming for dinner. It is a bit like a hotel around here. They don”t have a key for the door, but instead a fingerprint ID. system and ten people can unlock it at the moment. There is also a renter living in the basement who I haven’t met yet and Christoph’s younger brother lives down the street with his parents and dropped by unexpectedly today. Apparently he is here all the time too. Finally I guess I will learn to eat Rabbit here. Christoph’s father raises rabbits and I guess rabbit is common dish in their house.

Tomorrow I will take the train to Passau and meet Babsi there. We’ll travels for a while and then I head to colgne for a little bit of training before I begin working on the 9th of September.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Aaron
    Aug 29, 2010 @ 23:18:45

    Hey Allison, sounds like things are going very well for you out in Germany. That living situation sounds very nice as well. I’m enjoying reading your posts and hearing what you’ve been up too, keep it up!
    Best,
    Aaron

    Reply

Leave a comment